We stayed in Marietta
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette hotel overlooks the Ohio and Muskingum Rivers
and is in the heart of historic downtown Marietta.
They have 77 unique guest rooms.
One of the last riverboat-era hotels,
the Lafayette opened on July 1, 1918,
and was named in honor of the Marquis de Lafayette,
who visited the city in 1825 at a site near the hotel.
He has since been regarded as Marietta's first tourist.
With its distinctive triangular shape,
the hotel offers guest rooms with views
of either the Ohio or Muskingum Rivers,
whose legendary flooding a half-century ago
is indicated on benchmarks in the lobby.
An 11-foot pilot wheel from the steamboat
J. D. Ayres is featured the lobby.
Some of the furniture
There are many
rooms and hallways
walking towards the ballrooms
Remember pay phones
the entrance for the Gun Room Restaurant
The original call bell system of the Mansion House
is displayed on the left hand wall as you enter
the Front Street entrance to the dining room.
A dozen small bronze bells, numbered and suspended
on coil springs
were activated by pulling a cord
upstairs placed in each room.
The bell would vibrate on its spring for several minutes
so the maid could see what chamber
was calling for her
. Reno Hoag and his son found this system
when the old Mansion House was demolished.
They rehabilitated the system
for display in the Hotel.
The bells and other parts of the system were
made in England.
Similar systems were used in English inns
in the 17th century